Saturday, November 24, 2007

"The Siren Queen" by Fiona Buckley

This was one of my favorite Ursula Blanchard stories. It was written in 2004, so I'm feeling that maybe Ms. Buckley has stopped writing the series - which is really too bad. The final sentence was fabulous as the north is now on the march to the south, Meg may have met her future husband, Matthew de la Roche isn't dead, Cecil is on the outs with Elizabeth, and Gladys may finally stop throwing curses on people.

I think I also liked this book in the series because Meg starts being a character - and she's a pretty astute young lady.

I hope the series continues. I just don't think we'll see it happen as it's been three years since the last book. :(

1 comment:

bookwoman said...

Hello --
The Ursula Blanchard series by Fiona Buckley is one of my favorites, too, and I've also been waiting impatiently for the next book in the series after "The Siren Queen." I did some research on Fiona Buckley, though, and found out that she also writes other historical fiction series (such as the Bridges Over Time Series and the Exmoor Saga) under her real name of Valerie Anand. She just came out with "The House of Lanyon" in the Exmoor Saga series in November 2007. So I'm hoping that the non-appearance of any more Ursula Blanchard books is just due to the fact that the author has been very busy lately, and not that she has given up writing the series! I haven't been able to find a way to contact the author directly, as she does not seem to have her own Website, but you can sign up with Simon & Schuster, Ms. Buckley's American publisher, at, and they will send you an e-mail alert whenever a new Fiona Buckley book is released.